A Kinder Day

“Did I offer peace today? Did I bring a smile to someone’s face? Did I say words of healing? Did I let go of my anger and resentment? Did I forgive? Did I love?
These are the real questions.
I must trust that the little bit of love that I sow now will bear many fruits, here in this world and the life to come.”

Today I found this quote by Henri Nouwen and it inspired me the second I read it.
Finding myself being maybe a little bit too self-centered at times,  this might be the right thought to wake up with every day.
Certainly it is easy to end up in the vicious circle where all you can think about are your troubles and sorrows and your struggle. And there is no shame in worrying about oneself or sometimes put oneself before others. It is okay, and surely it wouldn’t be healthy to put yourself last all the time.
Though, the longer you let you pity yourself, the deeper you will come into this circle. And one day you will find yourself sparing not one single thoughts on others in an entire day. That can pull a person down completely.

I guess if we all would think like this, the world would be a kinder,friendlier place to live in.

Doing a little bit more good every day will be my next challenge.
It surely does increase my own happiness, it always did.
And by working on myself every day by living this motto I might be able to be in peace with myself, to smile to myself, to tell myself words of healing and let go of my anger and resentment. I will get to forgive myself and most of all: love myself.

I hope this inspired you a little, like I was inspired this morning.
Let me know your thoughts or experiences about this more positive and selfless way to start a day!

 

 

Leave a comment